FOODSTOCK


I was at the first annual FOODSTOCK at Wesleyan University last weekend where I presented my research on the future of kimchi in America and I also participated on a panel on “Food as an Academic Pursuit.”

I was in the company of distinguished food writers and scholars (Amy Bloom, Molly O’Neill, Doreen Greenspan, and Ruth Reichl to name a few!) and many Wesleyan students.

It was terrific being back on campus after all these years to find myself still the poster child for diversity!

Big me  in the Usdan campus center

I was so thrilled to hear that the students have taken up food seriously since I had left. I had taken a Cuisine and Cultures class with Professor John Finn my freshman year and more food related courses after but engaging with food didn’t go much beyond the classroom.

I met students that started up the farmers’ market on campus, lived in Full house (a food writing and food house), and established Espwesso (Wesleyan’s student run cafe).

I see a real change happening at Wesleyan. I think the need is building for the establishment for a Food Studies program on campus!

Want to hear more about the day?

Serious Eats’ coverage and slide show (I appear on slide #11!):

http://www.seriouseats.com/2012/05/foodstock-food-writing-conference-at-wesleyan-university.html

Barbara Fenig’s report on Huffington Post:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/barbara-fenig/foodstock_b_1511706.html

Leave a Reply

