Resurrection

Hi everyone! I’ve been on mute for awhile but I’m back!

Why have I decided to return to writing my blog?

Short answer:

My inspiration was reignited through the Future of Food Studies workshop.

Long answer:

The Food Studies Program at Indiana University hosted a summit of the movers and shakers of the Food Studies world (May 9-11, 2013). This meeting was the grand finale of the full year Andrew W. Mellon Sawyer Foundation Seminar on Food Choice, Freedom, and Politics.

I thrive on meeting new people and talking about food and food related issues. So you can imagine how much fun I had at the Future of Food Studies Workshop this week!

We were very fortunate to have a diverse group of people in attendance. Call me a Food Studies nerd but I have to admit that many of these participants were on my top 10 “Must Meet” list.

Participants

Rachel Black (Gastronomy Program, Boston University)

Simone Cinnotto (The University of Gastronomic Sciences, Italy)

Jonathon Deutsch (Hospitality, Culinary Arts, and Culinary Science Drexel University)

John T. Edge (Southern Foodways Alliance, University of Mississippi)

Lisa Heldke (Gustavas Adolphus College)

David Kaplan (The Philosophy of Food Project, University of North Texas)

Susan Levine (Food Studies Working Group, University of Illinois at Chicago)

Lucy Long (Center for Food and Culture)

Fabio Parasecoli (Food Studies Program, The New School)

Krishnendu Ray (Food Studies Program, New York University)

Analiese Richard (University of the Pacific)

Peter Scholliers (Vrije Universiteit Brussels)

Amy Trubek (Food Systems, University of Vermont)

Michael Twitty (Culinary Historian)

Harry West, (Food Studies Centre, the School of Oriental and African Studies, London, UK)

Stephen Wooten (Food Studies Program, University of Oregon)

The major themes that were covered during the workshop were:

1) strategies for undergraduate and graduate training

2) incorporating new fields and managing interdisciplinarity

3) academic and professional training

4) the job market for food studies graduates

What was truly inspirational was the shared enthusiasm about critically engaging with food issues and the willingness to collaborate to ensure a brighter future for food studies.

Are you interested in pursuing a undergraduate or graduate degree in food studies? Would you like to know what your options are and what you can do after?
If so, drop me a line so I can share some of my thoughts with you!

 

Leave a comment