Chicken Soup

I’m making chicken soup tonight.

Ingredients: quartered chicken (skinned), large white onion, garlic, carrots, celery, and dill

Meal Composition: I’ll be having this with perfectly cooked brown rice (thank you, pressure cooker!) and cabbage kimchi I made last week!

Method: My mom taught me how to make this before waving me off to college.

  • Peel off the skin by using paper towels. (This gives you a nice grip on the slippery meat!)
  • Plop the pieces into boiling water in the biggest soup pot you have.
  • Cut up the vegetables as much or as little as you want, in whatever shape or form. I tend to put LOTS of veg.
  • Salt and pepper to taste and boil away!

Meaning: I like making this soup when I feel the need to be comforted.

I used to be convinced that this was a “Korean” recipe and made it for my Jewish friend once and she said: It tastes exactly like my mom’s chicken soup! This was a pretty shocking moment. How could my mom’s soup taste exactly like her mom’s?!?

It turns out that my mom learned how to make it from her Jewish friend.  So it’s Jewish chicken soup once removed.

This is what it looks like right now but I swear it will look more appetizing once it’s done!

3 responses

  1. Awesome! Just had chicken soup two nights ago… wanted extra veg so also added some leeks with the other veg and mushrooms for the last 10 minutes of boiling. Also added parsley, sage & thyme. Ate with white rice, lime juice, and sriracha!

  2. My mother taught me to boil the chicken with a peeled turnip, and onion, a whole stalk of celery and a large carrot. Then, after an hour or so of simmering, take out the veggies and throw them away. Take out the chicken and let it cool. Skim fat off the broth. Meanwhile chop your fresh veggies and put them in the broth to cook. When they are close to done, skin and de-bone the cold chicken and put the chopped up chicken pieces into the soup. This way the stock is nice and strong, and has the nice flavor of the skin and bones, while the meat is not over-done. I usually put some noodles in about the same time as the chicken.

Leave a Reply

