On a Buffet line

Scenario: You go to an event with a buffet line. The food just came out and the guests are being shy.

Which of the following statements best describes your behavior?

  1. Finders keepers, losers weepers!
    You make a straight run for the plates. (I like them when they are nice and warm)
  2. Playing it cool.
    You go to the bar or table and wait for more people to hop on to the buffet line.
  3. A little bit too late.
    You played the “cool” card a bit too long and found that most of the food disappeared.

Now, let’s examine what your plate looks like.

  1. It is piled high, to the max, with everything and ANYTHING!
  2. It is pretty full but not over crowded.
  3. It only has one category (appetizer/entree/dessert).

I usually make a dash to the line and fill up my plate to the brim, just because I’ve seen some horrors committed when you wait to0 long. The classic tragedy of the commons. Free food makes people misbehave.

But the other week, I was at a function (thanks SLIS!) and I played it cool, a bit too long. But in exchange, I was able to have a heart to heart with D.

*********************************************************************************************************

The reason I bring up buffets is because I just had a very vivid dream about two different ones! The one I remember the most featured everything in a mayo-sauce. Mayo has been on my mind the past couple of days because I’m trying to decide what type of slaw to make for a class movie showing tomorrow. I promise I’ll be back with photos of the slaw I make later tonight!

Leave a Reply

