Becoming an American Shopper

When I first got to Bloomington, I HAD to attend international student orientation or else they wouldn’t let me register for classes.

What I gained from it was very little but one thing from the handbook did stick:

“Most Americans buy food for a week or more at a time in supermarkets.”

I first scoffed at this because I have always bought groceries on a daily basis. This is largely because I constantly change my mind on what I want to eat. I also really enjoy the process and want the freshest ingredients possible.

The fact that Saturdays are when the farmers’ market opens has made me a once a week shopper.
This requires a tight control over what is in my fridge, freezer, and pantry so that I don’t waste or run out of food before my next run.

This is what I got from the farmers’ market last week!

How would you maximize Saturday shopping day?

3 responses

  1. Those are some good looking veggies!
    I’m terrible at grocery shopping. Not because I don’t know what to buy, but I almost never use everything before it goes bad, because I never have as much time as I think I’ll have 😦
    Wish I could come to the farmers’ market with you!

  2. Looks gorgeous! I love farmer’s mkt shopping! I’m a once a week shopper, because I would spend more money if I shopped daily, but I love the idea of getting all fresh ingredients and making delicious food nightly…. but i’m so lazy:)

    What’d you make with your purchases?

  3. Manicotti with eggplant, squash, and onions, pork dumplings with Chinese chives, and lots and lots of salad! I still haven’t tried the fig vinegar but I’m looking forward to it!!!!

Leave a Reply

