Oh Baby Corn

Do you like baby corn?

I don’t.

(Of course I don’t mean the real baby above!)

I don’t like the texture, the taste, the smell, and the appearance. I’m usually not a picky eater but just thinking about it makes me slightly sick. Although I have to admit that I haven’t had fresh baby corn, which might be truly delicious!

Don’t these look good?

Where does baby corn come from? Is it a smaller version of the corn that we usually have or is it a different variety altogether?

Turns out, baby corn is baby corn!

According to a Washington State University report, fresh locally grown baby corn has better texture and flavor compared to canned imports. Apparently, mid-August to mid-September is the season for finding baby corn at farmers’ markets.

The report recommends the following ways to prepare and enjoy baby corn:

  • Serve raw with other vegetables and a low-fat dip.
  • Toss cooked baby corn into your favorite pasta salad or tossed salad.
  • Include baby corn in any stir-fry dish.
  • Add baby corn to spaghetti sauce, a rice and bean dish, or casserole.
  • Serve steamed baby corn as a side dish topped with a bit of olive oil or butter and a dash of salt.
  • Include raw baby corn in vegetable soups or stews, adding near the end of cooking time.
  • Marinate baby corn to serve as a vegetable side dish or add to pasta or tossed salads.

To be honest, I am still not convinced that any of these preparations will make me an avid baby corn eater but I’ll have to wait till next summer to really decide for good.

Leave a Reply

