Indy 500 Grill

One thing I like about air travel is that you get to spend time (hopefully, not too long) at airports. It’s a great place to people watch!

While I’m waiting for a flight, I usually eat or walk around to check out the stores and restaurants. Since I did the former two weeks ago, I decided to browse the different dining options at the Indy airport.

The first thing that caught my eye was the Indy 500 Grill!

I had seen this restaurant before but it didn’t mean that much to me. I just thought it had something to do with NASCAR.

But everything changed when I recently visited the Indy motor speedway for an assignment for my heritage tourism class. I gained a deep appreciation for the speedway because it is the world’s largest speedway still in operation! A true American icon! The speedway also drove a lot of technological innovation in the car industry.

Designated as a historic site in 1975.

So when I saw the grill, I got so excited! Would they be serving food reflective of Hoosier heritage?

Do you see the Bud Light logo in the back and the race car on the wall?

I glanced at the menu but nothing really screamed Indy 500. I don’t know what I was expecting. But maybe dishes named: “Ear plugs necessary,” and “Rev your engine” may have been catchy…or not.

Check out the full menu here.

Fun facts I found on the website:

Indianapolis 500 Food & Beverage Information (May 2009)

  • Coca-Cola products: More than 16,000 gallons, which would fill two tanker trucks
  • Miller Lite and other beer products: More than 14,000 gallons
  • Indy Dogs: If laid end-to-end, would circle the 2.5-mile IMS oval more than two times
  • Bratwurst: If laid end-to-end, would circle the 2.5-mile IMS oval more than one time
  • Brickyard Burgers: More than 10,000 pounds, equal to the weight of six IZOD IndyCars
  • Track fries: More than 24,000 pounds, equal to the weight of an elephant
  • Chicken tenders: More than 2,000 pounds, equal to the weight of 13 Borg-Warner Trophies
  • Ketchup: More than 475 gallons, which would fill 10 bathtubs
  • Ice: More than 300,000 pounds
WOW! Now I want to know how much food was wasted!
Leave a Reply

