Three nights of chili

My Sunday Chili:

1 pound ground grass fed beef

1 onion

1 carrot

2 celery stalks

2 garlic cloves

1 1/2 cup  mixture of dry black beans, pinto beans, garbanzo, and lentils (soaked and cooked separately until tender)

1 can of stewed tomatoes

1 serrano pepper

1 jalapeno pepper

1 bottle wheat beer

1 cup homemade chicken broth

Liberal squirts of tomato paste from a tube

Spices: Penzys’ chili 3000, oregano, cumin, paprika, crushed red pepper, coriander powder, dried jalapeno flakes, and chinese five spice

I let the chili slowly cook for 4 hours in my dutch oven. For the last 20 mins, I uncovered the pot and prepared the garnishes: sour cream, red onion, cheddar cheese, and cilantro.

 

First night: classic bowl of chili

Second night: Chi-Hoon’s version of Cincinnati chili

I’ve always been curious about the Cincinnati chili but when I saw Guy Ferrari pull up to some chili joint in Ohio that wasn’t Skyline and ate six-way chili (deep fried jalapeno poppers was the 6th component), I decided I had to try an altered version of the five-way ( chili, spaghetti, cheese, onions, and beans).

It was really good! I’m not going to question anyone who swears by the Cincinnati style anymore.

Third night: nachos!

The thick corn tortilla chips really added crunch to these nachos!

Now I have one more night’s worth of chili sitting in my fridge. I’m willing to experiment.

Please share some “wild” ideas!

Leave a Reply

