Pretty in Pink Onions

Pink is my favorite color. It has been for awhile, although I try to hide it from time to time.
I used to pretend that my favorite color was red because I didn’t want to come off too girly.

But I have to confess that something about pink just makes my heart sing.

The energy I feel from pink makes me so giddy that I decided to have the wall in my office painted bubble gum pink. Well, to be honest, it was a mistake on my part because I thought the color read cranberry but it turned out to be pink.

Today, I decided to make some pickled red onions.
I love them as garnish in tacos, salads, and sandwiches!

I filled a medium saucepan with water and placed it on the stove. As I waited for the water to boil, I sliced up one HUGE red onion and poured 1 cup of apple cider vinegar into a measuring cup. Once the water reached a rowdy boil, I dumped the sliced onions in and blanched it for 1 min. I drained the onions and put them back into the sauce pan, poured the vinegar into the pot, and added cold water until it just covered the onions. I added a teaspoon of salt and gave the mixture a whirl. After returning the vinegar/onion soup to a boil, I let it simmer for 1 min and then transferred everything into a glass jar and let it cool.
WARNING: Be prepared to open all windows after this process because the vinegar becomes saturated in the air.

The result: beautifully pink tinted, crisp, and refreshing onions!

The pickled onions almost match the color of my office walls!

Woah, doesn’t that look cool?

5 responses

  1. Hi Chi-Hoon Kim.
    I recently read your Food Studies article on airplane food and I was wondering if you could answer a few questions for me. I am a journalism student at Boston University and I am writing a story about airplane food. I would appreciate it if you could tell me how it is made and what process it goes through before being served.

    Thank you,
    Estefania Souza

    • Hi Estefania,

      It all depends on what type of airline catering facility is making the meals. Increasingly, more companies are using deep frozen meals which are made in factory settings (Without any real “chefs” involved). These meals are made just like a frozen entree you buy in the grocery store and heated up in the ovens on board. The other “fresh” elements on the tray are put together at catering facilities near the airport and transported directly to the aircraft 3 hours before the flight.

      I would highly recommend you take a look at “Flight Catering” by Peter Jones. He has detailed explanations of the processes of in-flight meal production. I can share some of my observations from my internship last year if you would like as well.

  2. Nas, I used a 2 qt pot. Also, I think you can use 2 medium red onions. I just had a HUGE one so I went with one. Also, just top off with cold water until the onions are covered…I think you can be a bit flexible with that…can’t wait for you to try it! it’s super simple! Tell me what you eat it with!

Leave a Reply

